germany,die mannschaft

Early history

n 1900, the German Football Association (DFB) was founded by representatives of 86 clubs. This played a major part in consolidating various German regional competitions into a single national league, which came to pass in 1902. The national team played its first official match in 1908, losing to Switzerland 3-5. They took part in the 1912 Olympics football tournament, which is remembered for Gottfried Fuchs scoring 10 goals in a 16-0 victory against Russia. The DFC selected the players for the national team until 1926, at which point they appointed Otto Nerz as the coach. After missing out on the inaugural World Cup due to not being able to afford travel to Uruguay, Germany managed to qualify for the 1934 World Cup. They went on to beat Belgium and Sweden, but were eventually defeated by Czechoslovakia in the semi-finals. They finished off the tournament on a positive note by beating Austria in the 3rd-place match.

fun facts

  • Germany has won 4 world cups and 2 European Championship
Germany 2014 World Cup victory
  • Germany’s leading scorer is Miroslav Klose with 71 goals
  • Germany was once separated into three states although they were banned from international competition until 1950.

the helmsmen beckenbauer

Following a disappointing appearance at the Euro 1984 — a group stage exit — the DFB turned to its former captain, Franz Beckenbauer. As a coach, Beckenbauer exhibited many of the same qualities he brought on the field. With him at the helm, West Germany was almost guaranteed to reach the semi-finals of any given tournament.

This proved true at the 1986 World Cup, where the German team fought through the arid conditions to reach the finals. However, they were no match for the Maradona-led Argentina team, losing the game 2-3. Two years later, they made it to the Euro 1988 semi-finals, but the Netherlands were dead-set on gaining revenge for their loss at the 1974 World Cup. Despite leading 1-0 for most of the second half, West Germany eventually lost the match 1-2.

In its third consecutive World Cup finals appearance in 1990, West Germany finally claimed its third tournament title. As a whole, this tournament is mostly remembered for its lack of goals and defensive tactics. On its way to the finals, the Germans defeated the Netherlands (2-1), Czechoslovakia (1-0), and England (4-3 on penalties). The final match against Argentina was a dull affair, with Andreas Brehme scoring the winner in the 85th minute.